PBA Press Corps fetes Gilas Pilipinas, Tim Cone after Asian Games success

PBA Press Corps fetes Gilas Pilipinas, Tim Cone after Asian Games success

Gilas Pilipinas and interim head coach Tim Cone emerged as the big winners during the annual PBA Press Corps Awards Night held late Monday at the Novotel Manila.

The national team, including Cone, was handed the President’s Award after their recent success in the 2023 Asian Games in China, delivering the gold medal for the first time after 61 long years

Cone was also given the coveted Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Coach of the Year award for steering Barangay Ginebra to the 47th Season Commissioner’s Cup title after taking down giant Bay Area Dragons in a grueling best-of-seven series.

The Defensive Player of the Year plum was given to Magnolia’s Jio Jalalon, who was also included in the PBA Leo Awards’ All-Defensive Team alongside Christian Standhardinger, June Mar Fajardo, Cliff Hodge, and Chris Newsome. 

TNT head coach Jojo Lastimosa, meanwhile, received the Danny Floro Executive of the Year award while Roi Sumang was the William Adornado Comeback Player of the Year. Jericho Cruz got the Mr. Quality Minutes as CJ Perez and Jayson Castro were given the Scoring Champion award and Order of Merit, respectively. 

Completing the awardees are the quintet of Justin Arana, Brandon Ganuelas-Rosser, Ato Ular, Tyler Tio, and Encho Serrano, who were all listed to the All-Rookie Team.

—JMB, GMA Integrated News

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *