Kentucky Derby tickets 2024: How to buy, cheapest price, total cost for Churchill Downs horse racing | Sporting News

Kentucky Derby tickets 2024: How to buy, cheapest price, total cost for Churchill Downs horse racing | Sporting News

Hold your horses, and pull out your finest hats. The 150th annual Kentucky Derby is around the bend.

The “most exciting two minutes in sports” will be here before we know it. While the race is quick, the event is unlike anything else. The Kentucky Derby is the biggest horse racing event in the world, prompting big, bright and bold fashion statements. It’s week-long event at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. The race, which began in 1875, is full of the most unexpected results in sports.

The Kentucky Derby is arguably the most exclusive race for horses. An event for three-year-old Thoroughbreds, there is no second chance for these horses. They have one shot and one shot only at the crown. The stakes are high in the run for the roses, which will be held Saturday, May 4, 2024.

Not only is it a once in a lifetime race for its competitors, it’s an unforgettable experience for fans, too. 

Here’s what to know about the upcoming Kentucky Derby and how to see it in person at Churchill Downs.

BUY NOW: Cheapest tickets for 2024 Kentucky Derby on StubHub

Kentucky Derby tickets 2024

Fortunately, while the Kentucky Derby is often viewed as an exclusive event, the race is widely accessible for those hoping to go.

Tickets can be purchased on StubHub for a two-day pass or Saturday only.

Listings for the two-day pass, which gives access to both the Derby and the Kentucky Oaks on Friday, begin at $146 for general admission. The second cheapest tickets available are for the infield bleachers, which are going for $842. Tickets can get pretty pricey, with the most expensive pass currently going for over $3,800.

Fans who want to go to Churchill Downs on Saturday only can find tickets for as little as $113 in the infield general admission. It should come as no surprise that tickets for suites and tables can get reach five-digit numbers.

BUY NOW: Get tickets for 2024 Kentucky Derby on StubHub

When is the Kentucky Derby 2024?

The Kentucky Derby is always held on the first Saturday of May. This year, that will be May 4. The race typically begins between 6 and 7 p.m. ET.

While the race is a one day, one-time event, the week leading up to the Kentucky Derby is known as Derby Week. There are events everyday at Churchill Downs beginning on Saturday, April 27. The Kentucky Oaks race will take place Friday, May 3, a day before the big event.

Kentucky Derby 2024 field

To clinch a spot in the Kentucky Derby, horses earn points in designated Road to the Derby races. Ahead of the May 4 event, a horse must finish in the top 20 of the standings to run in Louisville. The Europe and Japan Roads winners will take two of the spots, as well. T O Password from Japan has accepted an invitation, meaning he will be one of the 20 horses at Churchill Downs. 


Some horses have clinched a spot in the Kentucky Derby while others are fighting for contention. Here is the leaderboard as of the end of March.

Rank Horse Trainer Total points
1 Catching Freedom Brad Cox 125
2 Endlessly Michael McCarthy 100
3 Track Phantom Steve Asmussen 70
4 West Saratoga Larry Demeritte 67
5 Timberlake Brad Cox 66
6 Honor Marie Whit Beckman 65
7 Dornoch Danny Gargan 60
8 Domestic Product Chad Brown 60
9 Sierra Leone Chad Brown 55
10 Deterministic Christophe Clement 50
11 No More Time Jose D’Angelo 45
12 Common Defense Kenny McPeek 37
13 Fierceness Todd Pletcher 36
14 El Grande O Linda Rice 30
15 Seize the Grey Wayne Lukas 27
16 Stronghold Phil D’Amato 25
17 Le Dom Bro Eniel Cordero 25
18 Tuscan Gold Chad Brown 25
19 Just a Touch Brad Cox 25
20 Mystik Dan Kenny McPeek 21
21 Hades Joe Orseno 20
22 Uncle Heavy “Butch” Reid Jr. 20
23 Encino Brad Cox 20
24 Liberal Arts Robert Medina 19
25 Mc Vay John Shirreffs 19

Kentucky Derby past winners

Last year, Mage, who entered as a 15-1 longshot, captured the Kentucky Derby title. In 2022, Rich Strike pulled off one of the largest upsets in the history of the race, overcoming 80-1 odds to take the crowd.

The Kentucky Derby has been racing since 1875, but here is a look at the race’s past 10 winners, two of which won the Triple Crown.

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2023 Mage Javier Castellano Gustavo Delgado 2:01.57
2022 Rich Strike Sonny Leon Eric Reed 2:02.61
2021 Mandaloun Florent Geroux Brad Cox 2:01.02
2020 Authentic John Velazquez Bob Baffert 2:00.61
2019 Country House John Velazquez William Mott 2:03.98
2018 Justify* Mike E. Smith Bob Baffert 2:04.20
2017 Always Dreaming John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 2:03.59
2016 Nyquist Mario Gutierrez Doug O’Neill 2:01.31
2015 American Pharoah* Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 2:03.02
2014 California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman 2:03.66

*Won the Triple Crown

Related Articles