Kentucky Derby free live stream: How to watch the 2024 Triple Crown horse race without cable | Sporting News

Kentucky Derby free live stream: How to watch the 2024 Triple Crown horse race without cable | Sporting News

A couple of horses have jumped to the top of the 2024 Kentucky Derby odds list.

Ahead of “The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports,” Fierceness (5-to-2 odds) and Sierra Leone (3-to-1) are considered the early betting favorites. Catching Freedom (8-to-1), Just A Touch (10-to-1) and Forever Young (10-to-1) round out the top five.

Of course, part of what makes the Kentucky Derby so thrilling is the possibility of a shocking result. Just two years ago, Rich Strike (80-to-1) became the second-biggest longshot to win the race, and Country House pulled off a stunning victory (65-to-1) in 2019.

With the winning payday boosted to a record $3.1 million, this could be the most competitive Derby in recent memory.

Here is everything you need to know about the Kentucky Derby, including how to stream the annual event.

Kentucky Derby free live stream

  • Live streams: Fubo | Peacock

For viewers without a traditional cable or satellite package, the 2024 Kentucky Derby will be available to stream on Fubo or Peacock. Fubo offers a free trial so you can try before you buy. 

If the Kentucky Derby is not available to watch live in your location or if you’re traveling abroad, you can use a Virtual Private Network (VPN). VPNs provide a secure and private online connection, allowing you to bypass geographical restrictions to access your favorite streaming services.

How to live stream the 2024 Kentucky Derby free without cable

Fubo is currently offering a free trial, giving subscribers the opportunity to try the streaming service before purchasing a plan. Fubo features plenty of channels that broadcast live sports as part of the Pro, Elite and Premier plans.

Kentucky Derby 2024 TV schedule

  • TV channels: NBC | USA Network

Live coverage of Friday’s races will begin at 1 p.m. ET on USA Network. Coverage of Saturday’s races will be split between USA Network (noon ET) and NBC (2:30 p.m. ET).

Date Time (ET) TV/Live stream
Friday, May 3 1 p.m. USA Network, Fubo, Peacock
Saturday, May 4 Noon USA Network, Fubo, Peacock
  2:30 p.m. NBC, Fubo, Peacock

Kentucky Derby race schedule 2024

  • Dates: Friday, May 3 | Saturday, May 4

Nearly 30 total races will be run on Friday, May 3, and Saturday, May 4. The Kentucky Oaks is expected to start around 5:51 p.m. ET on Friday, and the Kentucky Derby should begin at approximately 6:57 p.m. ET on Saturday.

Friday, May 3

Race Post time (ET)
1 10:30 a.m.
2 11 a.m.
3 11:30 a.m.
4 12:05 p.m.
5 12:43 p.m.
6 1:26 p.m.
7 2:09 p.m.
8 3:03 p.m.
9 4:04 p.m.
10 4:51 p.m.
11 5:51 p.m. (Kentucky Oaks)
12 6:27 p.m.
13 7:02 p.m.

Saturday, May 4

Race Post time (ET)
1 10:30 a.m.
2 11:01 a.m.
3 11:31 a.m.
4 12:04 p.m.
5 12:36 p.m.
6 1:14 p.m.
7 1:56 p.m.
8 2:46 p.m.
9 3:40 p.m.
10 4:31 p.m.
11 5:27 p.m.
12 6:57 p.m. (Kentucky Derby)
13 8 p.m.
14 8:35 p.m.

Kentucky Derby tickets 2024

Tickets for the Kentucky Derby are still available on StubHub. You can check out seating charts by clicking on the link below.

BUY NOW: Get Kentucky Derby tickets now on StubHub

Kentucky Derby horses 2024: Odds, post positions, jockey, trainers

Here is the field for this year’s Kentucky Derby, along with each horse’s morning-line odds, post position, jockey and trainer.

Click on a horse’s odds to visit FanDuel and place a No Sweat First Bet for up to $500.

Post Horse Trainer Jockey ML odds
1 Dornoch Danny Gargan Luis Saez 20-1
2 Sierra Leone Todd Pletcher Tyler Gaffalione 3-1
3 Mystik Dan Kenny McPeek Brian Hernandez Jr. 20-1
4 Catching Freedom Brad Cox Flavien Prat 8-1
5 Catalytic Saffie Joseph Jr. Jose Ortiz 30-1
6 Just Steel D. Wayne Lukas Keith Asmussen 20-1
7 Honor Marie Whit Beckman Ben Curtis 20-1
8 Just A Touch Brad Cox Florent Géroux 10-1
9 Encino Brad Cox Axel Concepción 20-1
10 T O Password Daisuke Takayanagi Kazushi Kimura 30-1
11 Forever Young Yoshito Yahagi Ryusei Sakai 10-1
12 Track Phantom Steve Asmussen Joel Rosario 20-1
13 West Saratoga Larry Demeritte Jesús Castañón 50-1
14 Endlessly Michael McCarthy Umberto Rispoli 30-1
15 Domestic Product Chad Brown Irad Ortiz Jr. 30-1
16 Grand Mo the First Víctor Barboza Jr. Emisael Jaramillo 50-1
17 Fierceness Chad Brown John Velazquez 5-2
18 Stronghold Phil D’Amato Antonio Fresu 20-1
19 Resilience Bill Mott Junior Alvarado 20-1
20 Society Man Danny Gargan Frankie Dettori 50-1
21 Epic Ride Adam Beschizza John Ennis 30-1

Kentucky Derby winners by post position

History shows horses on the inside, starting from positions one to 10, are much more likely to win the Derby than those starting on the outside.

Here are the all-time Derby winners by post position: 

Post position Kentucky Derby winners
1 8
2 7
3 5
4 5
5 10
6 2
7 8
8 9
9 4
10 9
11 2
12 3
13 5
14 2
15 6
16 4
17 0
18 2
19 1
20 2

Related Articles