IPL 2024 Teams, how to watch in US: Check top contenders for this year’s Indian Premier League

IPL 2024 Teams, how to watch in US: Check top contenders for this year’s Indian Premier League

IPL 2024 will see ten teams in action and 4 teams will go into the qualifiers and subsequently into the finals for clinching the coveted IPL title. The teams include Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Lucknow Super Giants, Gujarat Titans, Rajasthan Royals and more.

IPL 2024: What do we know about the participating teams?

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Ruturaj Gaikwad-led side has been the talk of the entire IPL history having clinched the IPL title five times in the years 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023 respectively under the leadership of legendary former Indian skipper MS Dhoni. CSK begin their IPL journey this year against Royal Challengers Bangalore on March 22. Delhi Capitals (DC)
Delhi Capitals squad is being led this year by top batsman Rishabh Pant, who is also one of Indian national team’s top players. He is coming back into action this year after severe injuries from car accident in 2022 that made him unfit to play cricket for a long time. Delhi Capitals have not clinched the IPL title yet and will be looking to do so this year.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)
A team that needs no introduction, RCB has some power-packed hitters in their side led by the skipper Faf Du Plessis. However, since the start of the IPL in 2008, RCB has been unable to win the IPL trophy once.


Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
A team that won the IPL title twice, is looking fresh and charged under their skipper Shreyas Iyer, who is yet another top player for the Indian national team. This year the team will be mentored by the team’s former skipper Gautam Gambhir, known for his feats at the ICC World Cup 2011 finals against the mighty Lankans.

Mumbai Indians (MI)
Mumbai Indians went through a regime change it seems, with Hardik Pandya being appointed as captain for the squad. However, much is expected from the team that has already won the IPL trophy five times, the second team to do so, other than CSK.

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)
Lucknow Super Giants are a very new team in the block but has performed significantly well since their participation in this cash-rich franchise league. KL Rahul is the skipper of this squad, who is known for his power packed hitting that sends the ball into the stands.


Rajasthan Royals (RR)
A team that championed the first ever IPL season in history (2008) under the mighty Australian spin legend Shane Warne’s captaincy, Rajasthan Royals’ skipper this year will be Sanju Samson. The squad has some legendary batters and bowlers in their team and will be looking at repeating their 2008 feat.

Punjab Kings (PBKS)

Punjab Kings are led this year by flamboyant Indian opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan who is known to cleaning the clocks of pace bowlers with the shining ball in their hand. Punjab Kings are yet to win an IPL title in since it commenced in 2008. This time the Punjab outfit has a new home venue as they shifted out of traditional turf of Mohali.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
Sunrisers Hyderabad will be captained this year by Australian pacer Pat Cummins. The team that won the trophy once in 2016 took some big decisions at he IPL Auctions for this season held at Dubai’s Coca Cola Arena. It is to be seen how well these decisions pay off.

Gujarat Titans (GT)
One of the newest teams on the block but still managed to clinch the IPL title in 2022, Gujarat Titans are the biggest giant-killers who thrashed Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets in the 2022 IPL finals held in Ahmedabad. The team, which will be captained this year by Shubman Gill, also ended as the runners-up in the IPL 2023, losing to CSK by 5 wickets.

IPL 2024: How to watch, match timings in USA

IPL can be watched in the US on the Cricbuzz app which will include all live updates, streams, highlights, commentary, live shows and much more. Matches will begin either from 7.30 pm (IST)/10.00 am (ET) or 3.30 pm (IST)/6.00 am (ET) onwards.



Q1. Who is the captain of Mumbai Indians?
Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya will be captaining the Mumbai Indians side this IPL 2024 season. The side has already won the IPL 5 times and will be eyeing their sixth title this year.

Q2. How many teams will play the IPL this year?
This year 10 teams will be playing the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 that include some of the best T20 players in international cricket.

Disclaimer Statement: This content is authored by a 3rd party. The views expressed here are that of the respective authors/ entities and do not represent the views of Economic Times (ET). ET does not guarantee, vouch for or endorse any of its contents nor is responsible for them in any manner whatsoever. Please take all steps necessary to ascertain that any information and content provided is correct, updated, and verified. ET hereby disclaims any and all warranties, express or implied, relating to the report and any content therein.

Related Articles